What does Smite do in Minecraft?

This guide will walk you through the Smite Enchantment in Minecraft. It will explain what Smite is, how it works, and much more.

Minecraft provides players with a variety of options for improving their strength. The Enchantments, for example, are one of them.

Enchantments allow players to level up their weapons, making them more powerful against specific threats. However, we are not here to discuss all of the various Enchantments. Rather, we are here to discuss one in particular.

Smite Enchantment
Smite Enchantment

What Smite is and how it works

Smite is a Weapon Enchantment, which means it only works on Swords and Axes. It serves as a damage boost and it increases the amount of damage dealt to undead mobs. Smite's damage rises by 2.5 (1.25 hearts) with each level, although this damage can only be dealt against undead mobs. This is also the reason why I said "If you're playing Survival" above. This is also the reason why I said “If you're playing Survival” above. The good news though, is that there are a plethora of undead mobs in Minecraft's World.

The Smite Enchantment can be upgraded up to level 5, and when Smite V is applied to a weapon, it deals an extra 12.25 damage to undead mobs.

Enchanting a sword or an axe at an Enchanting Table can grant you the Smite Enchantment. This will require the player's Experience Levels, as well as some Lapis Lazuli, and even then, which of the Enchantments will be given to you, will be determined at random. If the player surrounds the Enchanting Table with bookshelves, Smite V can be obtained directly from it. Also, the Smite Enchantment is exclusive. It cannot be combined with Bane of Arthropods, Sharpness, or Cleaving.

Zombie hit with Diamond sword
Zombie hit with Diamond sword

Which mobs are affected by Smite?

Zombies, zombie villagers, skeletons, withers, wither skeletons, zombified piglins, zombie horses, skeleton horses, strays, husks, phantoms, drowned, and zoglins are all affected by this Enchantment.

Smite or Sharpness?

Sharpness is another useful Enchantment you can apply to your sword or axe. It has five levels, similar to Smite, with level 5 being the most powerful. Because the Smite and Sharpness Enchantments are incompatible (as said above), only one can be used at a time.

Both Enchantments are situational, and their effectiveness is determined by your play style. However, most players will prefer Sharpness over Smite because Sharpness is much more versatile and can kill almost any mob with 2-3 hits.

However, Smite is far better than Sharpness when dealing with undead mobs. Sharpness V's maximum overall damage value is 10, however, Smite increases attack damage by 2.5 per level. Smite V's Java edition grants you 19.5 attack damage to all undead mobs. It will raise your attack damage to 20.5 on the bedrock version.

So, that brings us to the end of this article. That's everything you need to know about the Smite Enchantment in Minecraft. Easy right?

Take care and Stay Safe!

JokerGR's avatar

This article was written by JokerGR, published on

Jok3r is a columnist at Crafty. Spends time learning new things about Minecraft and writing articles about them. He likes what he does and will guide you through some questions you may have about Minecraft as best as he can